BBKA Forum

British Beekeepers Association Official Forum 

• Preffered Varroa treatments ?

• General Q&A, Bee chat and only Bee chat please
General Q&A, Bee chat and only Bee chat please
 #7249  by KKO
 21 May 2020, 09:34
Dear all,

I am a researcher conducting a year long trial on Varroa treatments using different treatment regimes to control mite populations. I'm in the middle of the experiment but woud like advice from large scale beekeepers/beefarmers to help me finalise a decision for a summer treatment - What is your preferred method for Varroa treatment during summer and why? I assume that MAQS is too expensive for large scale operations, biomechanical methods too labour intensive so am left considering oxalic acid fumigation..

I would also be interested to hear in general from both small & large scale beekeepers - what are people's preferred treatments throughout the year?

Any advice and input will be gratefully received... Thank you.

Regards.
 #7251  by Patrick
 21 May 2020, 11:19
Hi KKO

I assume you are familiar with the Bee Farmers Association? They are a group of beekeepers managing forty hives or up. They will inform you of more commercial practices.

At a more modest level, my treatments are thymol or formic based treatments in summer and oxalic in midwinter.
 #7252  by Steve 1972
 21 May 2020, 12:10
I'm just a small scale hobby beekeeper and my hive count never goes over twelve in spring to summer and down to my preferred amount of around ten to eight colonies going into winter..
The main tools in my box and most used is a heated pan type vaporizer and a gas - vap which i use to sublimate a oxalic acid mix with four treatments (sometimes more) five days apart in Autumn and once or twice around Christmas time..