BBKA Forum

British Beekeepers Association Official Forum 

• Help a newbie

• General Q&A, Bee chat and only Bee chat please
General Q&A, Bee chat and only Bee chat please
 #280  by Newbee
 13 Aug 2018, 11:09
Hi all,

I’m new to beekeeping but have started with two hives and some advice from local beekeepers. One reoccurring theme that I am finding is that if you ask two beekeepers the same question you’ll often get at least two answers, but sometimes more!

I am also finding that lots of books and online advice is either contradictory (“don’t ever do this” v. “always do this”) and that it is also often quite vague and assumes some existing knowledge, even when pitched at newbie beekeepers like me. The combination of conflicting advice and less than clear written guidance is driving me slightly mad and making me very concerned about what to do to make sure that me bees are happy and healthy.

To give one example of conflicting advice: one experienced beekeeper tells me to treat for varroa and then feed using feedbee, the pollen substitute, and then some thick sugar syrup. Another says that feedbee isn’t required at all, and that thick sugar syrup in late August/September should be sufficient- but only one can be right surely, and I don’t want to risk my bees by guessing. They are also very unclear on quantities, as are the various books and online guides that I have been reading.

Any suggestions from the more experienced over feedbee v. sugar and on the quantity required of each for an 11 frame national hive, and do fellow newbie beekeepers share my frustration over conflicting advice and written material?
 #282  by DianeBees
 13 Aug 2018, 11:47
Thinking about what pollen is needed for - and knowing they can store it:
Are your bees bringing in pollen at the moment? Have they got plenty stored?

Pollen foods are usually given in spring by beekeepers who want to encourage plenty of early brood raising for oil seed rape crops.