BBKA Forum

British Beekeepers Association Official Forum 

• Pollen outside the hive

• General Q&A, Bee chat and only Bee chat please
General Q&A, Bee chat and only Bee chat please
 #601  by Alan_A
 13 Sep 2018, 17:03
Hi,

This afternoon I noticed a lot of pollen on the ground in front of the hive. The bees are behaving normally, the colony is healthy and quite strong and currently has 5 frames of brood with stores in 5 frames and an empty super below the brood box. I have just finished treating with Apiguard and yesterday gave a feed of 2:1 sugar syrup. I'm in my second year of beekeeping and and would like to know if anyone can give a reason for the pollen. Thanks
 #612  by Alan_A
 14 Sep 2018, 07:18
Thanks for your reply Nigel,
No, I haven't fitted mouse guards but my WBC hive has sliders at the entrance that are closed down to about two bee spaces. The pollen on the ground is just pin head size balls straight from the bee, there's no wax or other debris so I don't think its a mouse problem but I will check before I shut them up for the winter.
 #614  by Patrick
 14 Sep 2018, 12:45
Hi Alan

The reference to mouse guards was maybe more about the fact that some types can "brush off" pollen loads from workers as they push past the restricted entrances, rather than a suspicion of nefarious mouse activity.

I don't know about your restricted slider entrance but it may be doing the same thing - maybe the easiest way to check is having a quiet watch of the entrance around midday when they are actively flying sometime over the weekend and see if any loads are brushed off. You could use the same opportunity to look out for hawking Asian Hornets, it being AH awareness week - as well it being a very pleasant way to while away a moment.