BBKA Forum

British Beekeepers Association Official Forum 

• Is this normally do-able, or unusual?

• General Q&A, Bee chat and only Bee chat please
General Q&A, Bee chat and only Bee chat please
 #8897  by pingping
 17 Sep 2020, 18:09
Can anyone here please give me some comparisons from their experience?

March - 5 colonies on 3 year old queens
4 on 1-3 seams, very weak
1 on 9 seams, good

In one season to have these do the following:
- average 140lb each
- re-queen all with colony-raised queens
- split each to give 10 colonies early July
- all splits and original colonies now at 15-24 seams full strength.

Other info: queen stock Ged Marshall; at 620 foot altitude, Buckinghamshire, no rape, mostly tree nectar, bean in July at 1 mile, 2.5 acres of immediate clover ley. Countryside, but not good bee country. Not moved to crops this year.

This is a serious question, not bragging. I have been using my type of hive for 5 years and this is perfectly normal for me, but I have no comparison trad beehive alongside and I need to some genuine feedback. Do others achieve this sort of result in conventional gear? How would it rank if you go this out of your apiary?

I am sure some can micro-manage this sort of result, but I have very low input. Inspect brood 4 times a year, they do not swarm (management trick) and use 50lb supers so a new box every other week or so. This 2020 season, above, was off the back of an experimental 2019 winter of no-feed and Ivy stores only (not recommended), so was poor. I have averaged 240lb in some years. Normally a split of a new queen in May or June will draw out 16 national brood frames, back- fill them and be ready to swarm again in 1 month. A June split will give 50lbs surplus good or bad year, excluding their stores.